Trump Cancels Meeting With Australian PM Over Refusal To Sell New Zealand To US

trump and morrison

Donald Trump has cut short a state visit with Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison, after Morrison ruled out selling New Zealand to the United States.

Mr Trump, who earlier praised Australia as America’s 28th best friend, had been hopeful of doing a deal with Australia over the island nation. But Mr Morrison said he was powerless to sell it.

A furious Trump abruptly cancelled the visit, tweeting, “I thought the prime minister’s statement that it was an absurd idea was nasty. “It was not a nice way of doing it. He could have just said, ‘No, we’d rather not do it.’”

It is not the first time Mr Morrison has been powerless to sell a nation. As a former head of Tourism Australia, he was also unable to sell Australia.


Have you got tickets to The War on 2019 yet?

Gold Coast HOTA: Wednesday 20th November – BUY TICKETS

Newcastle City Hall: Thursday 21st November – BUY TICKETS

Brisbane Powerhouse: Friday 22nd November – BUY TICKETS

Perth Astor: Saturday 23rd November – BUY TICKETS

Canberra Theatre: Tuesday 26th November – BUY TICKETS

Wollongong IPAC: Wednesday 27th November – BUY TICKETS

Cairns Tanks Arts Centre: Thursday 28th November – BUY TICKETS

Adelaide Arts Theatre: Saturday 30th November – BUY TICKETS

Hobart Theatre Royal: Wednesday 4th December – BUY TICKETS

Sydney Enmore Theatre: Thursday 5th December – BUY TICKETS

Melbourne Atheneum: Saturday 7th December – BUY TICKETS

Become a Shovel member. Or follow us on Email | Facebook Twitter Instagram